signalhuset

from: ArchDaily.com

Dear Lindy Ling-Li Tan,

We are happy to send you a housing offer. Please read the attached Word document which is your contract. If you are unable to open the document, please contact the International Office immediately.

Sincerely,
The Housing Co-ordinators
University of Copenhagen, University Education Services
Guidance & Admissions, The International Office

I got sent an email a week ago or so that told me that my proposed rental amount was not enough to get me my own bathroom. As an only child, this troubled me some, and my worst fears have come to fruition! OH NOES!

So this place, it’s an apartment for four people, with a shared living and kitching area. It’s really close to the Metro and train station, so that’s good and convenient (considering my lack of bicycle-ness!!). It’s also pretty near to the airport (I don’t know if that’s a good or bad thing!) It’s in the Ørestad district, which is apparently quite new and being developed (but also means construction). All in all, I guess it sounds ok?

Maybe I should be a little less pretentious and learn to share. But for now, I am in a dilemma as to what to do. I’m supposed to advise the International Office about whether I choose to accept or not by 1st May. However, there is the (though pretty slight) chance that I’ll be offered a place through this other housing website thing that I’ve been looking at… I think the main thing is, I don’t want to be left with nothing.

My gut instinct is telling me to just accept, because it’s better than living nowhere. And the pictures look pretty enough! Besides, it’s all about embracing new experiences right? And I’ve got to learn to share at some point right?

Note to Beck:

The room is a strictly personal offer for you. You may not have others move in with you. Breach of this is subject to one warning after which the student can be evicted if he/she continues to break this rule.

So if you come… =(

Acceptance package and Visa problems

Anyway, on to another thing. I picked up the acceptance pack that was sent to UTS from UoC on Monday, with a bunch of brochures and things, as well as my Visa application. But lo and behold! They didn’t stamp/sign it, and it appears that the Danish Consulate will not accept that. So it’s another waiting game. I’ve sent them an email, and so has Steven, but I haven’t heard anything back yet… So I guess we’ll see how it goes… Fingers crossed!

Another thing that I need to do is send off the form for my ID card. I have to go and search for those passport photos that I took at the Travel Expo…

Global exchange fair at UTS

Global Exchange Fair is tomorrow! I’m probably going to go to the UoC talk and just see how that goes, and hopefully get to talk to a bunch of the UoC people and see what it’s like and stuff.

Anyway, it’s late (I do NOT know how it got to 2.30!!) and I should be getting to sleep so I can wake up in time tomorrow!

I was thinking the other day, and it’s only 3 months or so til I should leave! I REALLY NEED TO GET ON TO BOOKING MY FLIIIIGHT!

misselty.

  • Trackback are closed
  • Comments (16)
    • rach
    • April 22nd, 2010

    wow u got a place! nice. will u actually be livinng in that pic above? coz it looks SO COOL!

    anyways i think you would be fine sharing? just hope you get really cool non-troublesome housemates. :)

      • misselty
      • April 23rd, 2010

      i’ll write about this later, but i emailed housing, and they gave me this other place which is quite a bit more expensive and it’s in a less convenient area, and had riots some time ago…?! so i’ll probably just go with this one…

      and yes, hope that i get awesome housemates.
      and some internet arrangement…. hahahaha.

    • shanaya
    • April 23rd, 2010

    wow, everythings happening!

    omg. i totally hate sharing bathrooms too
    but maybe it will be nice sharing a house? if you get good roommates?

  1. Hey Lindy,

    Did you accept the offer? It looks like we could be in the same building, let alone roomies!

    http://blog.brycewilliams.com.au/post/555618652/is-it-a-signal

    By the way, I’m Bryce, an International Studies/Law student at USYD!

    See you in Copenhagen!
    Bryce.

      • misselty
      • April 29th, 2010

      hey bryce!
      yeah, i did accept the offer. which building are you in?
      are you going to be studying law subjects when you get there? or are you there for international studies?
      i’m sure we’ll definitely bump into each other once we get there!

      • I’m in building 11A, on the first floor. Where are you?

        I’ll be doing political science mainly, but I may do one or two relevant law subjects!

        Bryce.

      • misselty
      • April 29th, 2010

      i’m in 11A too! but on the 6th floor i believe.

  2. Hey Lindy

    I found your blog when i googled signalhuset :) I got offered housing there too.

    I’m Erin – 4th year law/arts from University of Queensland.

    Oh – and I’m also in 11A :)

    See you in Copenhagen!

    -Erin

      • misselty
      • April 29th, 2010

      oh awesome! what floor? :O lol.
      can’t wait!!
      it’s all getting so exciting =D

    • this is hilarious – all these combined law students from Australia in the same dorm in Copenhagen!

        • misselty
        • May 1st, 2010

        i never figured that it would be so easy to search my blog! lol. oh well, at least we can say hi before we get there? =)

  3. Hey Lindy,

    I would check your KU email account ASAP – I just got an email stating that they’ve increased the rent, and I have to respond within 2-3 days with an acceptance.

    I hope this isn’t a recurrent thing…..

    Bryce.

      • misselty
      • May 8th, 2010

      thanks bryce. i get the ku emails forwarded to my normal email so i’ve got it.
      but thanks for checking in. =)

    • Jessie
    • May 11th, 2010

    Ouch on my eyes after seeing that first one of the building…

      • misselty
      • May 11th, 2010

      awww you don’t think it’s pretty?

    • João
    • January 7th, 2011

    Hey Lin!! Great blog you have here. So you enjoyed Lisbon? I Know it’s a great city ’cause i live there.lol
    I’ll going to Copenhagen and to your residence in February and i have a few questions about it.
    What are the rules and policy of the residence? Friends who visit me can stay in my room for a couple of days with no problems attached? Sports facilities any closer?
    Hope to hear from you soon.
    João

Comments are closed.
