københavn, jeg elsker dig.

sunset from ørestad station. (photo: me)

I wrote this post back in early November, shortly after Beck left. I felt weird to post it that early on because I wasn’t that close to leaving yet. But now that I am leaving, or at least, I am supposed to have left, I thought it was about time that I did. I’ll edit it a little bit though, and add a few things… :)

It was good to have Beck here when she came, not only to get me out of my post-Russia, I-don’t-want-to-be-in-Copenhagen funk, but to remind me just how much I love this city. Taking her around and talking about living here, I realised how much I enjoy this little life that I have built for myself. Sure, a lot of it is spent pandering around on my own, but it’s just… I’ve definitely adjusted to it, and I almost don’t want to go home.

Copenhagen is the capital of Denmark and is home to about 2 million people. It is a city that is built on so much history, as many European cities are. It’s a rather quiet city, and things happen at a relatively slow and relaxed pace. I wasn’t expecting the big city kind of life when I came here, and I’ve gotten quite used to the quiet-ness, so much so that when I went to Stockholm last weekend, I found myself having to get used to being in a city-city again, and Stockholm is by no means the size of home. One of the things that I find quite strange is what seems to be a complete absence of people rushing in their business suits, although this may be due to the fact that I am hardly ever out and about at that kind of a time. There are always people just milling about, not so much lost, but just enjoying themselves, wherever they are, on their way to wherever they’re going.

Before I came here, people told me that Copenhagen wasn’t very exciting, and there wasn’t so much to see and do here. I’ve found that I don’t crave the excitement, or having things to do, or being busy at all. I’m quite content to wander down Strøget, explore the various palaces and gardens that are dotted around the city. I wouldn’t say there are that many actual tourist attractions to see, but wandering around and getting lost is always fun, and can sometimes be very rewarding. I still have to go back and visit the streets that I got lost in the other day while trying to take a shortcut… Needless to say, it didn’t end up being so short. :)

Other things about Copenhagen… I like catching the free S-tog on the first Sunday of the month and visiting a random place in the outskirts. While I do not like how things are not open on Sundays, except for the first Sunday, I guess it’s nice to have a day where you aren’t obliged to go out. I love the harbour, and walking that stretch along the water between where the Little Mermaid should be, down towards Nyhavn. It is no Sydney Harbour, and there is no Harbour Bridge, but it’s Copenhagen, and I love it. The entire bike culture, and hygge, and hearing Danish and the small joy in being able to understand every odd sentence now and then…

I have definitely enjoyed being able to live on my own, keeping my room as messy or as clean as I want it. I won’t miss having to cook for one, but that has been an experience in itself.

I guess you could say that Copenhagen has made me a much more relaxed person. I don’t stress out as much while I am here, not even about uni and classes and all that (which may be a bad thing…!)

I really will missing living here though. I still have two months or so, yet I am still thinking about when it comes time to leave…

Since it has been leaving week, and I’ve spent last week saying goodbye to people, and goodbye to the city, it made me really realise just how much I had here. I know that I am not the most social of people, so I did not expect to make as many friends as I did. I really hope that we remain in contact with each other, and I’m so glad that we have the wonderful interwebs now, and Skype and Facebook… :)

It really is the people that make an exchange experience. Sure, your aim is to mix with the locals, but being an international student, you are far more likely to run into people from people from every single other country, but the one that you are staying in. But either way, it is what it is. And that’s all there is. :)

I guess a post is required re: leaving and London failure and all that, but I think I am just relishing the fact that I have one more day here. Even if it will mostly just be spent at home refreshing the Norwegian website to make sure that my flight is still on schedule…!

misselty.

  • Trackback are closed
  • Comments (1)
    • shanaya
    • December 21st, 2010

    less stress is good btw

Comments are closed.
