the one where everything that could have gone wrong, did.

And so ends my exchange… :(

I was supposed to leave Copenhagen on Monday at 18.20, but just as I was finishing up the final touches to my packing, I received an SMS and checked online and found out that my flight was cancelled. I had to rebook, and so I did so for Tuesday, same time.

Later that night, at about 22.30, I received another SMS about a ‘rescue’ flight to London-Stansted at 9am in the morning, but after L’s wonderful 31 hour experience on Saturday… I was not keen to go via Stansted. So I stuck with my 18.20 on Tuesday.

Come Tuesday, of course, everything was fine, until about 14.00. It was just the beginning of everything that could go wrong, actually going wrong, when I discovered that the flight was going to be delayed an hour. But ok, fine, it would still work out quite ok, get to London at 20.30, plus travel time to get to M+C’s… but it would be ok.

So, I was a little slow getting to the station, because I overestimated my skill at juggling all of my luggage. Thank you to all the Danes who looked on as the tiny Asian girl struggled.

The train was delayed, but only by a little, so in fact it was actually quite good, because it meant I could take a little bit of a breather.

The train was packed like sardines and I almost didn’t get on but for the girl who pretty much pulled me and all my stuff on to the train. I had to stand off balance for most of the time, but fair enough.

The trusty Tan family ‘blue bag’ presented a slight tear upon arrival at the station. But that was not the main problem. It seemed that I had misplaced the lock and keys for the suitcases. But check in was required first. So I checked in, and then proceeded to attempt mending of the blue bag. Luckily I had a number of safety pins and a stapler on hand. And then I found the keys. Then I checked in, things were fine, then went through security. No problems again.

No gate had been allocated for the flight. So I just sat around waiting for some sign of a gate to appear. Finally, at 18.30, a gate number appeared. So I headed over there. Got to the gate, waited a little while, and then we were let in. Of course, we could only just sit there, waiting for some sign…

gate d101...

An announcement finally comes at 19.30… informing us of another hour delay. Not happy Jan. What I did find slightly amusing was that Norwegian decided to send me another SMS informing me, as if I wouldn’t have been at the gate yet… So it was time to sit some more. Finally, at about 20.00, we started boarding. No problems, no nothing. 20.30 and boarding was complete, but we weren’t moving.

Of course, an announcement from the pilot, something about the congestion etc etc… And then finally, we started taxi-ing. We had to get the wings de-iced, but ok, I will allow time without complaint for that, because I cannot imagine that iced wings make for very good flying…

de-ice-ing. (de-icing just makes me think of icing on a cake...)

But of course, just as we were in place for take off, another announcement from the cockpit. Due to the high traffic into London-Gatwick, we were not allowed to take off for another 10 minutes. And true enough, 10 minutes later, WE HAD LIFT TAKE OFF! No problems with the flight. I pretty much just slept because I was still feeling a little bit sickly.

leaving = sadfish.

farvel københavn. :(

Landed in Gatwick with no further delays. Then went through immigration, and no problems.

:O in london?! no wai!

Then went to collect luggage. Waiting and waiting for the carousel number to appear on the board…

Until an announcement was made that said that, since the flight had arrived out of time, there were not enough ground staff to unload all the luggage from our flight, and also another flight from Billund. After waiting for over an hour, finally we were directed to carousel 3. And there was our luggage! It was already 23.20, and I was really worried that I wouldn’t make the tube after the train. Spoke to M and then went to buy my ticket.

I got stuck in the queue for the tickets for 20 minutes. It was a little bit ridiculous that there was only one counter open at that time… And I was racing for time to catch the 23.51.

Of course, at about 23.47, I noticed that the 23.51 had been cancelled because “No driver could not be found”. I have no idea what that means… but then I was set for the 00.21. Ok, no problem. So I went down to Platform 4 to wait for the train.

At about 00.10, an announcement is made that says that the platform has been changed to Platform 2. So there I go, with all my luggage… up the stairs. Yay. :(

FINALLY, the train arrives.

finally on the train! (sleepy smile)

And I get to London Bridge Station. Thanks to M+C for picking me up from there, seeing as by 1.10, the tube wasn’t running anymore…

LOOK RIGHT! (london bridge station, 1.08am.)

And then finally I got back to their place. And finally got to rest a little bit.

And that is my epic, Getting to London story. I think this beats the St Petersburg day…!

I will post about my first few days in London soon. I don’t want things to pile up too much. :) But it is fantastic. :)

misselty.

  • Trackback are closed
  • Comments (2)
    • rach
    • December 24th, 2010

    LOL! i love your expressions. so funny.
    that was an epic journey! glad you made it to london town! :)

      • misselty
      • December 24th, 2010

      i don’t get it!

Comments are closed.
