in bruges – part one.

This morning, I had a number of things to do: check out by 11, find my Brussels souvenir, buy that bag that I saw last night, and possibly try to hit up the flea market at Place du Jeu de Balle/Vossenplein, towards the south.

Last minute packing up, had to clear the sheets, stowed luggage, got my deposit back (yay for increased liquidity!), and then headed off to the shops. I got rather distracted on the way to Springfield (link), and so I lost a bit of time. Got my bag, and then it was off to Lemonnier station via metro.

The metro system is kind of weird to be honest. They felt more like trams… or something? I don’t know. it was a bit strange.

Anyway, got to Lemonnier and then made my way to the flea market.

Saw this cool installation on my way there…

democracy now.

I really love streets in Europe. They are generally always very picturesque.

oh look, it's a street.

I only had a little bit of time to spend there, since I had to be back at the hostel to pick up my luggage before 13.00, since the reception closes from 13-16.00. But I had fun wandering around, looking at all the things that people had up for offer. There were a lot of cups and plates and that kind of thing, as well as electronics, the odd stall that sold piles of clothes. I picked up a few old postcards, more for the stamps than anything, as well as some odd keyrings. :)

to market, to market.

I would have loved to have more time but it was time for me to rush back to get my suitcase before reception closed, so that I would make it to Bruges in time to get a little bit of a walk around while it was still bright.

So rushed back, got my luggage, then went on my search for my souvenir.

waffle break. :)

After a few dud shops, I ended up back at the store that I had looked at yesterday. Caught a few pictures of the Grand Place since the sun had come out to play again, then went in search of the central station.

It happened that it was nearby to the pretty garden bit down from the museum area, so I detoured that way to take some more shots on the Nikon, luggage and all, before heading down to the station.

gare centrale.

And then I was off to Bruges!

a view from the train.

When I arrived in Bruges, I followed the instructions given by the hostel, so hopped on a bus… and kind of missed the stop… by a lot. So caught a bus back and got it right the second time. At least I got to go on a bit of a bus adventure…? :)

Made it to Markt, the main square in Bruges, and juggled luggage while trying to take advantage of the sun and blue skies.

markt.

And the famous belfry…

the belfy.

After the distraction of the sun and blue skies on pretty, old buildings, then went to find the hostel. I’m staying at the Snuffle Hostel. It’s near this pretty canal… :)

hello canal!

Checked in at the hostel, and had a rough time getting my suitcase up the tiny spiral staircase, but in the end I made it, and then had a look at the map. I love these maps from Use It. They cover lots of things from locals, and are aimed at the ‘younger traveller’. I found it quite useful in Brussels, and there’s one here for Bruges as well.Finally got out to exploring, and then stopped by at a small café just near the hostel. De Bretoen (Ezelstraat 4, 8000 Brugge) is a cute little place, recommended by my map. I got a hot chocolate and the apple/caramel pancake. The pancake was lovely, maybe a little too sweet. The hot chocolate, however, wasn’t as good after I found a fly in my first cup…

food and pancake making man!

Then I just wandered around the town a little bit, getting some lights.

a little of bruges...

... by night. :)

And I love this. Saw this printed on someone’s door.

at home in bruges.

Until I next get internet access at the hostel….!

misselty.


Comments are closed.
