the twentieth of november two thousand and ten.

ørestad, mid-december.

It has been four months since I left the shores of my beloved Copenhagen.

While I posted about my leaving, I did not post about the day that I thought was going to be my last day. The day that I spent running around like crazy, trying to capture as much as I could. Trying to bring every single part of København away with me…

It all started with the snow, knowing that it might just be the last time, for a while, that I experienced snow like that.

waiting for the metro.

Walking through familiar streets, streets that I had walked down countless of times over the months, to uni, to eat, to meet, to wander, to get lost… But I feel like I know these streets like the back of my hand now…

fiolstræde, nørregade, sankt peders stræde- some of my most frequented streets.

Bikes, bikes everywhere. Even though I did not ever ride, I will miss the seeming effortlessness of all the cyclists, cruising along, threatening to knock me over… But what would Copenhagen be without them?

københavn har mange cyckler.

I had meant to visit Konditori La Glace the entire time that I was in Copenhagen, but had never found the time to do so. So I rushed there on my last day, and ordered a slice of Efterårskage (or Autumn Cake), together with two serves of hot chocolate.

la glace, og min efterårskage.

The cake was fabulously rich in chocolate, as you can probably tell from the picture, but it was so lovely, just to sit there, inside away from the cold, and contemplating my last day…

And of course, once I was done, the chilly blue skies decided to come out to play, and even that low winter’s sun.

nytorv.

It’s blue skies and sun like that, that made me love winters in Copenhagen. Winter days like this were few, but still, definitely worth the wait.

'med lov skal man land bygge' (with law shall country be built)

The City Court of Copenhagen, situated along Nytorv, bears the above inscription, which is from the Preamble of The Law of Jutland, which actually means something to me, since I took Introduction to Danish Law!

More pandering along, and then it was time to start heading home, pack the last few things (not knowing yet that my flight was to be cancelled…!)

københavn hovedbanegård.

On the train, homeward bound.

like so many journeys home.

kalveboderne, going from sjælland to amager.

And then arriving at Ørestad to find this…

no trains again. dsb sucks.

Oh, the joys of trains, plus snow.

My final trek through Fields, to visit my one and only…

bilka onestop, onelove.

And a final goodbye to the actual place that I called home for five months.

mit hjem, signalhuset.

It was terribly sad to say goodbye, and even going through, reliving my last day in Copenhagen has made me a little teary. I still miss it, four months on. It’s a hard place to shake, but I don’t think that you could ever really understand that unless you have been there, lived there, and then had to leave.

A part of me will always call Copenhagen home, and I know that I will be back there one day.

København, jeg savner dig.

misselty.

Comments are closed.
