denmark makes the front page!

I know, I know, it has been a long time since you have heard from me. Uni totally gets the better of me, and it’s almost nearing exam times, so of course, the updates are looking more and more likely!

And after seeing this article on the front page of mx, I knew I had to come back and make a short-ish post.

dane's cheeky ban (mxnewspaper, may 26 2011, p1).

The article reports that a Danish law has effectively banned Vegemite from being sold throughout Denmark, given that it has not been approved by food authorities.

“the Danes have decided not to take their monarch’s birth nation of happy little Vegemites at their word.”

Just fyi, mx, Mary isn’t really the monarch of Denmark… but the article continued to amuse me further, courtesy of a quote from a Kraft Foods spokeswoman:

“We recognise that there is one very special Australian living in Denmark who we would be more than happy to send a personal care package to if she is having trouble finding it locally.”

To be honest, I don’t think the Danes are missing out on all that much if they can’t have Vegemite. And here is where I unload a few pictures on you, some that you may have seen before, but most are new (I think!).

Just a taste of some of the amazing food that Copenhagen at least had to offer.

Firstly, I have raved previously about my love affair with Sankt Peders Bageri and all its yummy goodness, but of course there are other bagerier (bakeries) around the place, such as HLM, this particular one which can be found adjacent to Illums Bolighus at Amagertorv at the centre of the city.

hlm@illums and a snegl (snail) from skt peders bageri.

Another one of my favourite pastries were these wonders (below, left) but I never did find out what they were called. I would just always point to them and the lovely people at Bilka would help me out. They had a pistachio-y inside and the outside was a nice pastry, quite like a croissant, but topped with, as you can see, poppy seeds. Sounds strange, but they were easy to gobble up. :) Something else that I loved, apple cake for dessert, served complete with sour cream (yes!). And of course, who could forget the amazing-ness of whipped cream topped hot chocolate. :)

unnamed nom and æblekage (apple cake) and varm chokolade (hot chocolate) at a café in frederiskberg.

Moving on from sweets now, while I never really got into the whole rugbrød thing, I was certainly partial to a great selection of cold meats and cheeses and the like. The cafeteria@KUA campus during our Danish Pre-Semester Language course definitely introduced me to some day-to-day Danish foods. More meat comes in the form of Jensen’s Bøfhus and the wonderfully affordable frokostbøf (lunch steak), with special Jensen’s sauce and amazing potatoes.

a plate from the cafeteria at KUA and 49kr frokostbøf (lunch steak) from jensen's bøfhus.

Last but not least, two great snacks: softis (soft serve) from the side window of Café Nodern, and a rød pølse (literally translated as, red sausage, but generally what we know as a hot dog) from a wagon along Strøget. I am a little sad that I could find a picture of my personal choice, a fransk (French) hotdog. (Oh wait, you can see it here, it’s the 15kr one on the right.)

softis from café nodern and a rød pølse from a pølsevogn.

With all these wonders and more (can anyone say noma, smørrebrød, marinerede sild… yeah, that is all I can remember from Danish class at this time of the night!), the Danes certainly aren’t missing out on… yeast extract!

misselty.

Comments are closed.
